About Tłįchǫ

Tlicho Government Structure

Tlicho Flag & Drums

The Tłįchǫ Government has powers to pass and enforce a wide range of its own laws. The Tłįchǫ Government can own resources, receive tax revenues and protect resources. The focus of the Tłįchǫ Government is the protection of the Tłįchǫ language and culture, heritage and wildlife. The Tłįchǫ people also have their own Constitution. The Constitution sets out the rights and freedoms of Tłįchǫ citizens and provides the rules for the election of the Tłįchǫ Government and for keeping the Government accountable. The Tłįchǫ Governing Structure is made up of three parts:

1. Annual Gathering

An Annual Gathering of the is held on a rotation basis in each Tłįchǫ community. The purpose of the Annual Gathering is to bring people together to share in the social, political and cultural activities of the Tłįchǫ. Among other things, the following matters shall be attended to at the Annual Gathering:

  1. an open forum shall be held where Tłįchǫ Citizens may ask questions, make recommendations and provide broad policy directions to the Tłįchǫ Assembly;
  2. nominations for the Grand Chief shall be announced in the year of an election;
  3. annual reports including financial reports on the activities of Tłįchǫ Government and its institutions shall be presented;
  4. debate, consideration and approval of proposed amendments to the Tłįchǫ Agreement or to the Constitution; and
  5. consider approval of motions from the Tłįchǫ Assembly.

2. Tłįchǫ Assembly

Tlicho Flag Raising

The Tłįchǫ Assembly is made up of a Grand Chief elected by Tłįchǫ citizens, a Chief from each of the 4 Tłįchǫ Community Governments and two representatives of each Tłįchǫ community. These members are elected by the residents of their community. The Tłįchǫ Assembly sits at least 4 times per year in one of the 4 communities. The Tłįchǫ Assembly is the law making body for the Tłįchǫ Government.

3. Chief's Executive Council

The Chief's Executive Council is made up of a Grand Chief elected by Tłįchǫ citizens, and a Chief from each of the 4 Tłįchǫ Community Governments. The Chief's Executive Council oversees the Implementation of Tłįchǫ Laws